Black Beans Kale Salad

kalebeanssalad

So, I went to Starbucks the other week and bought myself this salad there.  It had some kale, cilantro, carrots, black beans, brown rice, corn, sweet peas, and feta cheese. I thought to myself.  Wow, this is some salad.  It actually tastes really good.  Now; the ingredients do not look too hard that I can’t make myself and always up for the experimentation to trying it out and seeing how it goes.

So, the above is my version of the kale black beans salad, and it turned out really well.   My family thought it was interesting and never thought about adding rice to it.   I told them, look guys, we can’t eat biryani (indian rice dish) for the next week or so, so I improvised and threw it into a salad.

It tastes different right?  good right?   yeah, but still a biryani salad, like my daughter said, “We had Britnaney!” cuz she couldn’t pronounce “Biryani.” properly.  I don’t think many can pronounce it properly.  I’m sure more are reading it as “Ber-yani.” or “Birrrr-yani.”  and as my daughter says, “Brit-ney!” and only some of us get the joke behind that.

So here is the version; with the easy step by step instructions on how to make this from home.    Please like, leave a comment or two, and share this with others!      Subscribe to my blog.      Share your blog in the comments below!      Have an awesome week!

Ingredients:

1/2 bunch of kale, stems removed and leaves cut into thin strips, washed and dried set aside
1 bell pepper each color; green, yellow, orange, and red, diced
handful of carrots, shredded
1/2 cup corn, steamed and set aside
1 can of black beans, drained
1-2 servings of basmati rice already cooked, brown or white or leftover biryani rice
1 tomato diced
2-3 avocadoes, diced
1/2 bunch of cilantro, washed, chopped
1/4 cup of shredded cheese of mozarella
sea salt and black pepper to taste
4 Tbsp olive oil
2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 cucumber diced

optional: cooked chicken shredded (I added tandoori chicken, just about 2 Tbsp of it).

Preparation:

1.  In a large salad bowl, add the rice at the bottom
2.  Add the black beans on top
3.  Add the corn, avocado, and tomatoes.
4.  Add the bell peppers, cucumbers, and carrots
5.  Add the kale.
6.  Drizzle the olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and seasonings such as the salt and black pepper.
7.  Give it a good mix with a spoon and fork, or use your hands.
8.  Add cilantro, and mix it all in.  Add cheese and mix again.
9.  Taste, and add more seasonings if you need to.  But refrigerate until ready to serve.
 

Leave a Reply

