A mouse! Ahh! It bit me!

Ok.

So, I’m sitting here checking my mail when Daliyah my youngest little girl runs to me, “Mommy!  Ahhh!   It bit me!”  She crying, her finger is bleeding and I’m grabbing tissues, the disinfective medicine of polysporin and bandages.   As I’m trying to get the story from her, I’m cleaning up her finger.

“A mouse bit me!” she cries out.

“What?  Where’s the mouse?” I ask her in surprise.

“There, behind wee-dow.” she points out to the window behind the stereo, by our huge sofa in the family room.

“What, there’s a mouse there!” I say in surprise, and sure enough I lift the curtain and there it is in a trap, a mouse.  A tiny baby mouse trapped in the glue trap.   Its feet and its tail fully emerged inside it as it’s squeaking and trying to find its way out.

It’s squeezing and grabbing onto the bottom of the stereo and pulling itself way out.   I’m watching it in fascination as well as freaking out cuz there’s a mouse there and it’s alive and it’s squeaking looking up at us.

So, I grab the broom and dustpan and try to push it into it without pushing the glue into the mouse more, and after several attempts we make our way outside in the yard and slowly pull off the trap off the mouse as it scampers off into the field away.

My mom was wondering why I didn’t push the glue onto the mouse more, and I told her I couldn’t do that, just too inhumane for me, plus the squeaking couldn’t take it.

Yet, the mouse will die eventually as the tail tore off and the feet was injured severely.  

I said one was down, and the more to go however many came into our  basement from the field.   There’s a field near the highway, and as there are tons of them in there, they come into our yard and come into the house easily.    Just need to find a way to keep them out, maybe getting a cat to keep them out is good.

I wish I had a pic to show you, but just to get Daliyah to explain to me about the mouse biting her was fascinating.  She was talking, and trying to explain to me in just a way that I could say, wow, really?    ok be careful next time you know.

 

🙂